Where to apply for Czech visa

With focus on long-term visas and long-term and permanent residence permits  

A foreign national is entitled to submit an application at the embassy of the Czech Republic in the country of which he/she is a citizen or, if applicable, the country that issued his/her travel document, or in the country where he/she has long-term or permanent residence.  

Ordinance No. 429/2010 Coll. (“Ordinance”) provides exceptions and allows the submission of an application for long-term visa or a long-term or permanent residence permit at any embassy of the Czech Republic by citizens of counties that are listed in the Ordinance. 

Regulation (EU) 2018/1806 of the European Parliament and of the Council (“Regulation”) lists the countries whose nationals must be in possession of visa when crossing the external borders of the European Union. These nationals are listed in Annex I of the Regulation. Annex II of the Regulation lists the countries whose nationals are exempted from the obligation to be in possession of visa when crossing the external borders for stays of no more tha90 days in any 180-day period.  

Prior to joining the European Union, the Czech Republic entered into several bilateral visa exemption agreements with several countries, whose citizens are subject to a special regime based on these treaties (e.g. Argentina, Chile, Israel, Malaysia, South Korea and others). The special regime applies only when staying in the Czech Republic and not in other EU member states. 

In practice, the legal framework provides that there are many countries whose citizens may enter the EU, including the Czech Republic, without visa and subsequently apply for long-term visa or a long-term or permanent residence permit at one of the nearest embassies to the Czech Republic, i.e. the Czech Embassy in Germany (Berlin), Austria (Vienna), Poland (Warsaw) or Slovakia (Bratislava). This gives foreigners time to arrange their private and practical affairs in the Czech Republic prior to starting work in the country after applying for and obtaining the relevant long-term visa. 

It is highly recommended that you consult with a professional regarding the current legal practice, especially due to COVID-19 restrictions.  

Brož brož_mapa.jpg



  • Albania          
  • Andorra
  • Antiqua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Guatemala
  • Holy See
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People´s Republic of China
  • Chile Israel
  • Japan
  • Macao Special Administrative Region of the People´s Republic of China
  • Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro 
  • Nicaragua
  • New Zeland
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Salvador
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

JUDr. Jaroslav Brož MJur
BROŽ BROŽ VALA advokátní kancelář s.r.o. 

Svatave Čmielová
Dis, Executive Assistant 
BROŽ BROŽ VALA advokátní kancelář s.r.o.